Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Kale, Carrot and Quinoa Tabouli

Kale, Carrot and Quinoa Tabouli

Raw (vs cooked) kale is supposed to yield the greatest nutrients of any natural food. But I was completely incapable of digesting it. I learned that by massaging kale and chopping it up, I was able to digest it without any problems at all, however, and soon became a little addicted to it.

So I began looking for ways to either incorporate kale into recipes I already had some familiarity with and create new ones.

Traditional Lebanese tabouli is one of my favorite all time foods. I’ve been anemic on and off throughout my life so many times I don’t even keep track anymore. I learned at one point that parsley is a good source of iron, so that would explain why I would sometimes crave this wonderful healthy treat.

The day it occurred to me to combine my love of the societally underappreciated parsley (it’s not just an herb, man!) with my love of kale, was a beautiful one indeed. I’ve done some major revisions of the traditional tabouli recipe for my Kale and Carrot Tabouli recipe in order to support a lifestyle that’s free of gluten and more protein dense by substituting quinoa for the traditional bulgur wheat. I also use organic carrots instead of tomatoes or cucumbers because a) I usually have a gigantic bag of sweet, no-need-to-peel-because-they’re-organic carrots in my refrigerator and also because cucumbers and tomatoes can get watery and make the salad mushy if you leave it in the refrigerator overnight.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bunch curly kale, green curly leaves peeled from stalk, massaged with olive oil and salt (more on this in another post) and chopped very fine
  • 1 Bunch parsley, chopped
  • 3 Large organic carrots, scrubbed and sliced into thin rounds then cut into matchsticks
  • 4 Scallions, white parts chopped fine
  • Quinoa, 1 cup cooked (follow package directions and add sea salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste)
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Olive oil
  • 1/4 t sea salt
  • 4 Grinds of fresh pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and toss together with dressing vigorously.

