Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was walking out of my doctor’s appointment in Santa Monica, and what did I see, but 3 people standing on the sidewalk waving KALE around and talking. Even from a distance, I could see beautiful purple, curly kale and green dinosaur kale. It’s the kind of thing, people just need to share about. The Santa Monica Farmer’s Market had just let out and these friends were proud to show their bounty.
Matthew Biancaniello, mixologist and bartender at the posh Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood uses kale in his favorite recipes, and occasionally will put them in one of his drink creations. He also showed me some uber-ripe, sweet and juicy persimmon he was going to mix into the perfect seasonal cocktail — even sent me home with one! Not a leaf of kale, however, he would not part with. Smart man.

Matthew Biancaniello, bartender at Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood holding up purple kale from Santa Monica's Farmer's Market

Matthew Biancaniello, bartender at Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood holding up purple kale from Santa Monica’s Farmer’s Market

